Can I create a HTTP server?

Hi,

I'm pretty new in the app inventor community, but I have been creating small apps for my projects for a couple of years, and recently I have been working on a project that consist of a score board that will be hosted in a Android tablet and I want the app to act as a HTTP server where clients that are connected to the same network can access the IP address and be able to see the game time and score.

I'm not sure if it possible with app inventor or even if the HTTP server is the correct rout to take (or should it be a TCP/IP server?), or simply this is to big for me because I have 0 experience at HTTP coding.

Any guidance is appreciated.

No need to set up your owen server, you have many choices to store your score board, like TinyWebDB, CloudDB, FirebaseDB, Spreadsheet....

Thank you for your replay, I have dealt with TinyDB and Spreadsheet before, but how can I display the game time and score in real time on other devices while the game in going on?

If people are in the same room, with BlueTooth distance, there is also the possibility of basing score exchange on a BlueTooth Chat sample.

Search the board.

1 Like

BT won't do it, the distance between devices is around 50 meters

Spreadsheet can be shared, and data exchange is real time I guess.

firebasedb and clouddb both have real time events like 'when data changed', just check the drawer of each component.

I don't need to store the time nor the score, I want to display it in a monitor/tv, if I use firebasedb or clouddb I'll need an internet connection which it won't always be available.

For what I have been researching its going to be a server or cast the screen of the host device, but I can't seem to find a app that lets me to 2 or more devices.