The operation add items to list cannot accept the arguments

Hii. I am trying to add some values to a list so it could be stored in the TinyDB and I could show those values in another screen. But the message "The operation add items to list cannot accept the arguments" is showing, no matter how many times I try to fix it.

Can anybody help me?

global LivrosDe is not a list now (even though you set it as one to begin with)

1 Like

What can I do to solve it?
Sorry, I am not very good at it.

Hello,

as Tim has pointed you, if you want to handle "LivrosDe" like a list, then to add elements to the list, you need to use the "add items to list" block, instead of to set directly a string to it.

1 Like

I was useing the string only to make the title of the list change as the name of the user changes.
I changed the code make a list "global LivrosDe" and the i used the add items to list "global LivrosDe" with all the items of the first image I showed.
What I want is: To make a list with the title "LivrosDe" + name of user that has loggedIn and add a value to all the items I listed.
How can I do that?

List have not "title". You can create a List of List, or use a dictionary or use the name of the user like Tag to store the list of books associated to the user so, with the username, you can easily recover his/her list of books, display it, or add elements to it.

So, using the username like Tag, if you are passing in the "start value" the username, you can get the list of books for that user in Initialize block:

To manipulate list in tinyDB you need first to recover it, then update (add/modify/remove elements) the list, and then store the list again.

1 Like

Additionally, some tips on how to correctly switch from one screen to another:

1 Like

Thank you very much for helping me!

That´s what I changed. And the notifier says it did sign in the book.
Now I want to show how many books a pearson have added to their shelf in another screen.